Your Forum

Published: Monday, 18th February, 2013 9:30am

Leinster title for Dunshaughlin CC

Image related to story 4014499, see caption or article text
Adam Kealy received the Leinster Post Primary Schols' cup.
Pic by==: 97

Dunshaughlin CC 4-8, FCJ Bunclody 2-13

Darragh Campion conjured up a late point to give Dunshaughlin CC a dramatic injury-time victory over FCJ Bunclody in the recent u-14 Leinster Post Primary Schools Juvenile Football B final at St Brigid's, Blanchardstown.

The teams were on level terms as full-time approached, but just as the draw looked the most likely outcome Campion powered forward to fire the ball between the posts from long-range for the winning score.

Campion also came up with a late point when Dunshaughlin came back to defeat Scoil Dara, Kilcock in another exciting finale in the North Leinster final stage of the competition a few weeks ago.

Dunshaughlin scored the last point against Bunclody and they also grabbed the opener from a well-taken Sean O'Neill effort.

The Meath side hit a four-goal blitz in just 10 minutes with Cian Gallogly, Ross McQuillan and Campion found the net from play before O'Neill directed the ball home from the penalty spot to leave Dunshaughlin ahead by 4-5 to 0-8 at the interval.

The first five minutes of the second-half was a nip and tuck affair with a Bunclody point cancelled out by an excellent score from Murphy from an acute angle

after a rampaging run by McQuillan. The Wexford side battled well in the second-half and got back into contention with some good scores, but Campion stepped forward steering the ball between the posts for what would prove to be the winning point with virtually the last kick of the game.

Dunshaughlin CC: Mark Foy (Walterstown); Tom Dalton (Dunshaughlin), Adam Kealy (Dunshaughlin), Robbie Clarke (Skryne); Mampeme Mikamibua (Dunshaughlin), Sam Butler (Dunshaughlin), Jack Hetherington (Dunshaughlin); Sean Irwin (Walterstown), Darragh Campion (Skryne 1-2); Frank Carty (Skryne), Ross McQuillan (St. Patrick's, Cullyhanna 1-1), Paddy Conway (Blackhall Gaels); Sean O'Neill (Dunshaughlin 1-2), Cathal Murphy (Dunsany 0-3), Cian Gallogly (Dunshaughlin 1-0). Subs - Rian Kealy (Blackhall Gaels), Paddy Maher (Dunshaughlin), Neill Byrne (Dunshaughlin), Donagh Garvey (Bective), Ross Shivmangal (Simonstown Gaels), Michael Long (Skryne), Dylan O'Brien (Dunshaughlin), Lee Lynch (Dunsany), Paddy McCabe (Walterstown), Cian Maher (Dunshaughlin), Fionn Maguire (Dunsany) Ciarán Malone (Dunshaughlin), Turlough Malone (Dunshaughlin), Shane Claire (Dunshaughlin), Andrew Slevin (Dunshaughlin), Seán Byrne (Skryne), Eoin Harkin (Dunsany).

Return to: Homepage | Dunshaughlin Index | This article