We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Your Forum website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Ashbourne win first Towns Cup

Wednesday, 23rd April, 2014 12:02am

Ashbourne win first Towns Cup

Leinster Branch IRFU president Paul Deering presenting the Provincial Towns Cup to Ashbourne captain Rory Gleeson.

It was second time lucky for Ashbourne today as they claimed the Provincial Towns Cup for the first time on Easter Sunday, with a 6-3 victory over Kilkenny in a decider that required extra-time after the sides finished 3-3 after normal time.

Paul Morris was the hero for Ashbourne with the vital brace of penalties that completed a great double for the club - they also won the Leinster League Div 1B a few weeks ago going through the campaign undefeated.

Ashourne lost the 1999 final (10-18) to Navan in their only other appearance - Navan have since ascended to the ranksof the AIL.

Ashbourne overcame All-Ireland Junior Cup champions Enniscorthy 12-10 in a tense semi-final  at Naas RFC on the same day that Kilkenny beat Wicklow 12-7 at Tullow in another fraught last-four encounter where the victors survived a frantic finish.