We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Your Forum website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


New Thomas Ashe Sinn Féin branch

Story by Tom Kelly

Monday, 18th February, 2013 9:30am

New Thomas Ashe Sinn Féin branch

Thomas Ashe

The inaugural meeting of the Thomas Ashe Sinn Féin Cumann, named in honour of the leader of the successful Battle of Ashbourne in 1916, took place in the Resident's Hotel, Ashbourne recently.

Mary Lou McDonald TD provided an update on recent political developments, north and south, before the election of officers for the coming year.

The following officers were elected: chairperson, Seamus Murphy; vice chairperson, Mary Ryan; secretary, Sinéad Barry; publicity, Darren O Rourke; treasurers, Liam MacRaghnaill and Chris Marshall; policy, Maria Kenny; comhairle ceantair, Alex Kustov and Brian Donohoe.

Speaking afterwards Darren O'Rourke said:

"We are delighted to launch a new cumann in the Meath East area. It reflects a growing support for Republican politics and tonight's discussion was extremely positive. Issues including mortgage distress, personal indebtedness and access to community and public services were addressed."

Thomas Ashe was a significant figure in Irish history. Commanding the Fingal battalion of the Irish Volunteers, he took part in the 1916 Easter Rising and won a major victory in Ashbourne, where they engaged a much larger force, capturing a significant quantity of arms and up to 20 Royal Irish Constabulary vehicles in the process.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus